Malawi Electoral Commission

Updated December 2009

The Constitution of Malawi mandates the establishment of an Electoral Commission that is independent of any external authority (Constitution 1994, Articles 75, 76(4)). The High Court has the right of judicial review over the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) to ensure that it acts in accordance with the Constitution and Acts of Parliament (Constitution 1994, Articles 76(3), (5)(a)). The National Assembly has the power to confirm the constituency boundaries but is not empowered to alter them, except upon recommendation of the MEC. The MEC is assisted in the execution of its tasks by a Chief Elections Officer who is appointed by the MEC and answerable to it (Constitution 1994, Article 76(5)(b), Electoral Commission Act 1998, 12(1)-(3)).


The MEC comprises a Chairperson, who is a judge of the Supreme Court nominated by the Judicial Service Commission and other members, not fewer than six, who are appointed by the President on consultation with the leaders of the political parties represented in the National Assembly. Members may be removed by the President, on advice of the Public Appointments Committee, for incompetence or incapacity (Constitution 1994, Article 75(1), (4); Electoral Commission Act 1998, 4(1)).


The functions of the MEC are to (Constitution 1994, Article 76(2); Electoral Commission Act 1998, 8(1)):

  • Delimit constituencies.
  • Determine election petitions.
  • Direct and supervise electoral operations including voter registration.
  • Ensure the security of elections.
  • Conduct civic and education and create election awareness.

Term of Office

Office is for a four year period, unless appointed for a new four-year term (Constitution 1994, 75(3)(a)).

Commission Members

The eight members of the MEC are (MEC 2009):

  • Justice Anastazia Msosa (Chair)
  • Prof Brown Chimphamba
  • Dick Mzumara
  • Georgina Chikoko
  • Jane Nankwenya
  • Mary Manyusa
  • Oliver Mwenifumbo
  • Ronald Nkomba

Chief Elections Officer David Bandawe (MEC 2009).


The MEC is funded in the main by parliamentary appropriations and in part by foreign donors (Electoral Commission Act 1998, 15, EISA 2004).


CONSTITUTION OF THE REPUBLIC OF MALAWI 1994, [www] [opens new window] (accessed 22 Feb 2010).

EISA 2004 Election Update: Malawi 2004, 2, 15.


MEC 2009 "Current Commission", [www] [opens new window] (accessed 9 Dec 2009).

Official website

MEC: [opens new window] (accessed 9 Dec 2009).

nha cai uy tin , nha cai uy tin , tap chi me va be , casino truc tuyen , casino uy tin , casino tot nhat , danh bai , poker online , casino , bao ve viet nam , bao ve viet nam , suc khoe , thoi trang nam 2014 , suc khoe 2014 , shop thoi trang , tin tuc thoi trang phim le , hi tech , tin cong nghe , cong nghe , thoi su , tin moi , thoi trang , the gioi smartphone , cong nghe , may tinh bang gia re , dien thoai , su kien , game mobile , nghe si viet , the gioi nhac , nha cai , dien dan bong da , best bookies, , , , , , , , , , ,